My Favorite Poetry Lines

Edna Vincent Millay
“What Lips My Lips Have Kissed”
I cannot say what loves have come and gone,
I only know that summer sang in me
A little while, that I me sings no more

Gerard Manley Hopkins
“Spring and Fall”
Though worlds of wan wood leafmeal lie;
And yet you will weep and know why.

Wilfred Owen
“Dulce Et Decorum Est”
Come gargling from the froth-corrupted lungs
Obscene as cancer, bitter as the cud

George Gordon, Lord Byron
“So We’ll Go No More A-Roving”
For the sword out wears its sheath,
And the soul wears out the breast,
And the heart must pause to breath,
And love itself find rest

Leave a Reply

