Regret

So hard to break beneath the waves that crash and swirl around me. The salty taste fills my mouth and nose and burns inside my chest. If only I could swim back to shore, where the water was beautiful.

One thought on “Regret

  1. Great last line, Rach. It really drives home the idea that what you *think* you want isn’t always what you actually want. Reminds me of something I was watching the other day, where a character says, “I want to visit South Dakota more than anything,” and another replies, “Then you should go.” “No, I’ll never go, I just like wanting it.”

Leave a Reply

